Sharmila Tagore and Deepa Mehta as members of Oscar Academy

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has given invitation to talented actress Sharmila Tagore, Freida Pinto and director Deepa Mehta to them join list of members. Academy has invited 683 new members, Asif kapadia is also given invitation. Sharmila Tagore who won National Awards two times and Winner of Padma Bhushan, started her career with Satyajit Ray's Bengla film 'Apur Sansar', she also did many film in Hindi Cinema. She was Chief of Censor Board from 2004-2011. In 2005, she was selected as Goodwill Ambassador of UNICEF. She was also part of Cannes Film Festival in 2009. Freida Pinto who got famous from film 'Slumdog Millionaire' which won eight academy awards in 2009, she has also worked in many American and British films. Script writer Deepa Mehta started her career in 1996 with the film 'Fire', then she also worked in films like 'Water' and 'Earth'. She started her producer and directed career in 1991 'Sam and Me'. Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said in a statement, 'I invite them with proud in the academy. I know they will not take it as invitation, but as chance and not only as members, but will take as a mission.'